Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Personal tools
You are here: Home

Admissions, 2015


Admissions open for M.A. Programmes, 2015Admissions open for M.Phil. & Ph.D. Programmes, 2015Admissions open for Short Term Programmes, 2015


About TISS

The Tata Institute of Social Sciences (TISS) was established in 1936, as the Sir Dorabji Tata Graduate School of Social Work to meet the emerging need for trained human service professionals. TISS was one of the earliest institutions to be recognised as an institution Deemed to be University in 1964 to further teaching and research in the inter-disciplinary areas of Social Sciences. TISS is a centrally funded public university with the entire plan and non-plan grants provided by the University Grants Commission (UGC), Government of India (GoI) since 1964.

TISS has consistently worked for the promotion of sustainable and participatory development and creation of a just and equitable society. TISS has been engaged in research, policy support, programme development and evaluation, training, and advice on development interventions with the ministries and autonomous bodies of GoI; State Governments; bi-lateral and multi-lateral organisations; universities and institutions across the world; the non-government sector, industry, businesses at the national and international levels; and peoples’ groups and networks.

A high degree of freedom and autonomy shape the positive work ethos and creativity in the Institute facilitating strong linkages between education, research, field action and knowledge dissemination. TISS was awarded a 5-Star rating by NAAC in 2002. In 2009, the NAAC re-accredited TISS and placed it in Grade ‘A’ with a score of 3.88 out of 4—the second highest amongst all universities accredited by NAAC until now.


Key Positions

Prof. S. Parasuraman

M.Sc. (Pune), C.P.S. (IIPS),
D.P.D. (ISS, The Hague),
Ph.D. (Mumbai)


Prof. Neela Dabir

M.S.W. (Mumbai), Ph.D. (SNDT, Mumbai)

Deputy Director (Administration)

Mr. C.P. Mohankumar

M. Com (Univ of Madras), Diploma in Fin. Management (ICFAI, Hyderabad)


Prof. Lakshmi Lingam

M.A. (Andhra), Ph.D. (IIT-B)

Deputy Director,
TISS Hyderabad

Prof. Virginius XaXa

M.A. (Pune), Ph.D. (IIT-Kanpur)

Deputy Director,
TISS Guwahati

Prof. Abdul Shaban

M.A. (Delhi), M.Phil., Ph.D. (IIT-B)

Deputy Director, School of Rural Development, TISS Tuljapur

Chairperson, International Students’ Office

Prof. C.A.K. Yesudian

M.A. (Madras), Ph.D. (TISS)

Dean, School of Health Systems Studies

Prof. S. Siva Raju

M.Sc., M.A. Ph.D. (SVU)

Dean, School of Development Studies

Prof. H.Beck

M.A. (TISS), Ph.D. (Aurangabad)

Dean, School of Social Work

Prof. D.K. Srivastava

M.Com., D.Phil. (Allahabad), F.D.P.M. (IIM-A)

School of Management and Labour Studies

Prof. T. Jayaraman

M.Sc. , Ph.D. (Madras)

Dean, School of Habitat Studies

Dr. Shilpa Phadke

M.A. (S.N.D.T.), M.Phil. (Cambridge), Ph.D. (TISS)

Dean, School of Media and Cultural Studies

Prof. G.G. Wankhede

M.A., B.Ed. (Marathwada), M.Phil., Ph.D. (JNU)

Dean, School of Education

Prof. Asha Bajpai

LL.M., M.Phil., Ph.D. (NLSIU, Bangalore)

School of Law, Rights and Constitutional Governance

Prof. Lata Narayan

M.S.W., Ph.D. (Mumbai)

Centre for Lifelong Learning

Prof. Sujata Sriram

M.Sc., Ph.D. (Delhi)

Centre for Human Ecology

Prof. Madhushree Sekher

M.A. (Bhubaneshwar), Ph.D. (Bangalore),
Post-Doctoral Research (World Bank-Robert McNamara Fellow)

Centre for Social Exclusion and Inclusive Policies

Dr. Anil Sutar

M.A., M.Phil., Ph.D. (Karnataka)

Centre for Research Methodology

Prof. Leena Abraham

M.A., Ph.D. (Mumbai)

Chairperson ,
Centre for Studies in Sociology of Education

Prof. Surinder Jaswal

M.A. (TISS), Ph.D. (London)

Research and Development

Prof. Arvind Tiwari

M.A., Ph.D. (Sagar)

Students’ Affairs

Prof. P.K. Shajahan

M.A. (Mahatma Gandhi), Ph.D (Delhi)

Social Protection

Prof. Nasreen Rustomfram

M.A. Ph.D. (TISS)

Gender Amity Committee

Mr. D.K. Shetty

B.Com. (Ranchi), PGD in PM&IR (XISS)

Deputy Registrar (P&A)

Ms. Rajee Menon

B.Com. (Mumbai)

Deputy Registrar (F&A)

Mr. Mustafa Momin

M.Com.(Shivaji), M.A.(MKU), D.P.M.(TISS),
F.S.M.(Mumbi) , PGDEM(Mumbai)

Assistant Registrar (Academic)

Ms. Geetha Venkateswaran


Assistant Registrar (Academic)